A Chocolate Raspberry Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day!  I get to celebrate both my great dads – my dad and my step-dad! I actually celebrated with my step-dad yesterday, and had very short notice to whip something up for dessert.  Luckily, I organize all my gazillion recipes that I find on various blogs on delicious.com with a bunch of different tags, and I had a perfect recipe tagged under “Tom” (my step-dad) from The Noshery. Raspberry Crumb Brownie Bars. It was perfect for my short time schedule since it used a *gasp* boxed brownie mix.

Now for a little secret.  Yes, I love baking from scratch.  But honestly, in my book, nothing really touches Betty Crocker fudge brownie mix.  Or Duncan Hines Yellow Cake mix with chocolate frosting from one of those plastic tubs. There, I said it.  Go ahead and judge, but I stick by those good ole mixes…

Anyways, this recipe came together very easily.  It didn’t get RAVE reviews – not everyone loved the crust, and personally, I don’t like raspberry and chocolate, but they did get eaten up… so I guess they weren’t TOO bad!  I did have to use a little bit of whole wheat flour in the crust since I ran out of regular… I think that compromised the taste and texture a bit.  Also, my “crumble” was not crumble, but dough.  After pressed the dough into the pan for the crust, I added more flour to make it crumblier to sprinkle on top, but it didn’t work very well. I think I just softened my butter too much – if I were to make them again I might try cutting in cold butter rather than creaming it. I also think I could have made the crust even thinner so I had more crumble left over for the top.  I did get requests to up the amount of coconut I sprinkled on top :)

Raspberry Crumb Brownie Bars
Adapted from The Noshery

1 box of brownie mix ( you will need eggs, oil & water)
1 cup butter, softened (2 sticks)
2 cups flour
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 seedless red raspberry jam
1/4 cup of coconut

Pre-heat oven at 350 degrees.  Line 9 x 13 pan with parchment paper.

Prepare brownie mixture according to the instructions on the box.

Cream 2 sticks of butter, add flower, brown sugar and salt.  Beat at a low speed until combined and crumbly.

Flour your hands and work the crumb mixture with your fingers, pinching it, until you get good size crumbles.

Take 1 3/4 cups of crumbles and place in prepared pan.  Press the crumbles, shaping to the bottom of the pan.

Cook the crumb crust for 10 minutes.

Heat a pot at a medium-high heat, add seedless raspberry jam, stir constantly until it melts and you have a nice sauce, set aside.

Take crust from the oven and pour in brownie mixture.  Sprinkle remaining crumbles over brownie mixture, drizzle raspberry sauce over crumbles and top of with coconut.

Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes, until done.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

