You win some… and you lose some (Baking Blitz Pt. 1)

My single blog post was feeling a little lonely, and I figured the only way to remedy that quickly was to having a baking blitz this weekend. I picked out four recipes that I had been drooling over for a while, and decided to get the first done ahead of the weekend, on Thursday.

Unfortunately, my baking blitz started out with a major failure.  I had been wanting to make the Banapple Muffin Bars from Patti Cake for a while.  As much as I love buttery, chocolately desserts, I thought it might be fun to try something on the healthier side.  These have no butter, just applesauce and a mashed banana.

I thought the batter tasted kind of weird, and the final product tasted even weirder.  The texture was kind of gummy, maybe from the applesauce, and the bars in the center of the pan didn’t quite get baked all the way. I guess they looked okay once I cut them into bars, if a little bland and colorless…

After a few determined trys at tasting these, hoping they would get better, I trashed ’em.  I’m not sure exactly what went wrong, but I’m just chalking it up to an interesting experience. Patti had said on her blog that they were somewhat mediocre, but I have a feeling I messed up somewhere along the way. If you want to check out the recipe for yourself, go for it.  I have made some other things from Patti’s blog by the way, and they have been delicious, so this isn’t a reflection of her skills by any means!

Stay tuned for three more recipes that turned out FABULOUS!!!

Leave a Reply

