GIANT peanut butter cookies (Baking Blitz Pt. 2)

After my epic FAIL on Thursday with the Banapple Muffin Bars, I woke up Saturday morning determined to have a successful day of baking.  I was basically a baking whirlwind. As soon as one thing was in the oven, I was already furiously throwing flour, sugar, and anything else in reach into another bowl.  Best morning ever. This is what my counter looked like about halfway through the process.  By the end of the morning it looked similar, but covered in various stickiness.

I decided to start with some giant, bakery-style peanut butter cookies that I came across on Confections of a Foodie Bride.  I wanted to make some cookies to mail to my big brother in NYC, and I thought this recipe would make a perfect amount of cookies to send (plus he loves peanut butter).

These cookies were a lot of fun to make – the recipe was really simple.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have any peanuts and was too lazy to run to the store, but they came out really well anyways.  One of them broke as I was transferring it off the sheet, so that was the tester 🙂 I thought the cookie came out with the perfect mix of crispy edges without being rock hard.   I have never scooped such big cookies before!  I used a scant half cup of dough for each cookie, and I got 6 cookies out of the recipe.

If you do decide to make the big size of these cookies, note that they took about 20-25 minutes in the oven, and they still seemed slightly under done when I took them out (although once they cooled they were perfect).  Unless you want a super crunchy cookie, take them out when they are still pretty soft, let them cool on the pan for a few minutes, and then move them off to cool the rest of the way. YUM!

So, Dan, keep an eye on your mailbox next week, these babies are coming your way! 🙂

Oh and I almost forgot!  The recipe for these big bad boys:

Peanut Butter Cookies

1 stick butter, cubed and room temp
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup honey-roasted peanuts, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 375. Cream the butter and peanut butter on medium high for 1 minute. Add sugars and beat at med-high for another minute. Add eggs, vanilla and mix until smooth. Add flour, baking soda and salt on low speed until thoroughly combined. Mix in peanuts. Chill dough for 15-20 minutes.

Drop the dough onto a greased or lined baking sheet. You can use a greased fork to form the traditional criss-cross. Bake for 10-12 minutes until edges are golden brown.  (Or, if making larger cookies, 20-25 minutes) For a crispier cookie, allow the entire cookie to brown. Let cookies cool on baking sheet for 10 minutes and then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

Original recipe link here.

Next up…Baking Blitz Part 3: HOMEMADE OREOS!

Leave a Reply

