You put the lime in the coconut….

My step-dad can’t eat chocolate for health reasons, and he was heading off to get surgery in Rochester this weekend.  I wanted to send him and my mom off with some sort of treat, but without tempting him with the forbidden cocoa!

Enter Oatmeal Cookies with Lime, Coconut, and White Chocolate.  I found this recipe on Two Peads and Their Pod, and knew it would be perfect, since Tom LOVES lime and coconut!

These were pretty easy to whip up, and yummy too.  They weren’t my all time favorite cookie (that would require the presence of chocolate…), but it was definitely something fun and different to make.  All of the flavors came through really well.  I would be interested to try it again with a few changes.  One, I didn’t have my little lime zester tool, so I used a peeler and had to chop it up, making the bits of lime a bit coarser than I would have liked.  Same goes for the coconut, I would like to see how it would be with finer shreds of coconut.  I also found the dough a little stiff – and I had to put it in the fridge for a bit because I had something in the oven, so I wouldn’t do that again – I would have liked a softer, flatter cookie I think. I did add extra white chocolate, and would stick by that decision 🙂

Oatmeal Cookies with Lime, Coconut, and White Chocolate

adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

½ c. brown sugar

1/2 c. white sugar

1/2 cup softened unsalted butter

1 egg

1 tsp. Vanilla

Zest of 1-2 limes (I used 2)

A couple drops of fresh lime juice

1/4 tsp. Salt

1/2 tsp. Baking powder

1/2 tsp. Baking soda

1 1/4 c. flour

1 1/4 c. oats

About 3/4 cup coconut

About 1 cup white chocolate chunks (or chips) **I put in an extra 1/4 cup at least!

Cream the butter with the sugars until soft and creamy, using a mixer. Add in egg and vanilla. Add in lime zest and juice. Mix briefly. In a separate bowl combine the salt, baking powder, soda, flour. Add to wet ingredients. Mix until blended. Add your oats and then your coconut and chocolate. Drop by rounded spoonfuls on to an ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes!

Leave a Reply

