Berry Good Muffins

With all the sweet treats I’ve been whipping up lately, I decided to post up these yummy, healthy, berry muffins that I found on Two Peas and Their Pod (originally from Joy the Baker).  I decided to use fresh berries, which overflowed with jucy yummyness after baking.  I used blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries (much more than a cup!!)

I realized mid-baking that I had no applesauce, OR buttermilk, so I had to improvise a bit.  It was a while ago that I made these, but I believe that I used 1/2 cup yogurt, a cup of milk, and increased the oil to 3 tbs.  I was okay with not using applesauce – my last attempt to bake with applesauce were kind of disasterous…. But I would like to try these again with buttermilk – I think that would help enrich all the whole wheat flour, oats, general healthyness etc.

Although these got pretty good reviews from the family, and I have seen them being munched on at breakfast, I found some still in the fridge the other day, so I wouldn’t say they were the greatest hit.  I actually liked them a lot – they were best JUST out of the oven, when the berries were all gooey and juicy.  They keep okay in the fridge, but I think they sort of lose their sparkle after a few days… if you can’t eat them in a few days, toss them into the freezer.

Oatmeal Berry Muffins

Adapted from Joy the Baker via Two Peas and Their Pod

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cups oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce (I used 1 cup milk)
  • 1/2 cup low-fat buttermilk (I used 1/2 cup yogurt)
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp canola oil (I increased to 3 tbs with the above substitutions)
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. almond extract
  • 3/4 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen (I used fresh blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries – at least 1 1/4 cup)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Line a muffin tin with paper cases or spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large bowl combine flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. In a medium bowl combine applesauce, buttermilk, sugar, oil, egg, and extracts. Make a well in dry ingredients and add applesauce mixture. Stir until just moist. Fold in berries. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Makes 14-16 regular muffins

Bake for 16-18 minutes. Best when toasty warm and dripping with berry goodness:)

Leave a Reply

