A birthday cake to remember…

I was always really into birthdays.  Like, really into them.  I started planning my party for the next year the day after my birthday.  I always had it at the same place, a local park with sprinklers and a merry-go-round, and it always had a different theme.  I had a particular eeny-meeny-miny-mo type system to determine what the theme would be (usually some sort of animal), and I was very strict about the results.  I ended up having not just a cat themed party, which seems a pretty natural choice for a young girl, but also lizards, fish, and turtles on three different years. The theme extended to invitations, decorations, and most importantly, the cake. I always designed and helped to make my own cake. In fact, my love of elaborate birthday cakes probably should have been a warning to my parents about my addiction to baking adventures…

Then I graduated 5th grade.  I decided it was time for me to grow up a little, and have my first pool party – no more childish animal themes for me!  I made elaborate hand-made invitations with little swimmer girls with bikinis and towels.  I think I invited about 21 girls – each invitation customized to the girl.  Only 4 ended up being able to come.  The curse of the August birthday – everyone was ALWAYS on vacation.  Anyways, I didn’t let that stop me. I made a cake that I still remember today.  I must have seen the idea somewhere, but I have no idea where.  It was quite an ordeal to make, but amazingly fun. I just found these pictures as I was going through a bunch of old photos and had to post them.

It was a double layer sheet cake, with a kidney shaped pool scooped out of the center.  We lined the pool with frosting, and then filled it with blue jello and let it set overnight. Then we used teddy grahams with frosting bathing suits, sticks of chewing gum for a diving board and tables, gumballs for beach balls. Chocolate covered preztel rings served as inner tubes and the lifeguard stand, and fruit rollups became towels, chairs, volleyball nets…

If my memory serves me correctly, the cake looked better than it tasted. I remember it being a little soggy, and tasted a bit weird with the blue jello. But for a newly-turned-11 year old, it was a master piece.

2 Comments to “A birthday cake to remember…”

  1. what an absolutely adorable cake!!! i am glad i could inspire you to start food blogging – i hope you have enjoyed it as much as i have 🙂

  2. I just love your cake…..looks like you went to a lot of work but it looks worth the work…

    I am also new to blogging, check out my site, I have pizza on the grill featured right now.

Leave a Reply

