4th of July Bread!

I know you all have very very busy weekend plans, and most likely have your recipes all planned out.  But I’m telling you: make this bread.  Make it for breakfast, make it for tea, make it for a midnight snack.  It’s good.

Two things motivated me to make this bread:

1. My step dad’s birthday.

(Spice cake with caramel frosting – straight from the box, with
white chocolate lettering and flowers picked while I walked home from work…
The gaping holes are from the candles – my step dad had already
licked the frosting so we couldn’t put them back for the photo!)

2. Strawberries.

See my step-dad’s birthday was this week, and we got him a beautiful red KitchenAid Pro-610 mixer.  Of course I immediately HAD to be the first one to use it.  Then I looked in the fridge and saw buckets and buckets of these beautiful little strawberries.  Thus, 4th of July Bread was born.

I adapted a recipe for Blueberry Lemon bread, taking out the lemon zest and adding in some vanilla extract. I decided to use strawberries and blueberries for the whole patriotic color thing, although they both ended up just looking kind of purple.  But serious, when I tasted the crumble topping that goes on top of this bread, they could have turned lime green for all I cared.

This quick bread bakes up with a hard crunchy struesel-type topping that is so amazingly good.  The bread itself is good too – sweet and very moist – aided, no doubt, by the very juicy berries.  The berries added just enough tartness – otherwise, I think this bread might have been TOO sweet.  Nah… no such thing. Although, I actually cut down on the 2 cups called for in the recipe, because when I started folding in the berries it seemed like too much.  Once it was baked, however, I think it would have been fine with the full 2 cups berries.

I devoured a slice as soon as it was cool enough to handle, and it was delicious warm, though very hard to cut pretty slices.  I made myself let it cool overnight, and it was much easier to slice, although you will need a good serrated bread knife to get through the crunchy topping.  I had a slice for breakfast and it was just as delicious!  I forced myself to shoot a few photos and then wrap up the rest to share so I didn’t eat it all up! Oh and P.S. this is super easy to make!!!

(P.S. Back to my measly photography skills this time… I’m working on it!)

4th of July Bread
Adapted from the Blueberry Lemon Bread in The New Basics Cookbook by Julia Rosso and Sheila Lukins

Topping:
1/2 c. sugar
1/3 c. flour
4 tbs butter
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Bread:
3/4 c. sugar
1/2 c. milk
4 tbs. butter
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 c. blueberries (I used 3/4 c.)
1 c. strawberries, chopped (I used 3/4 c.)

Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease a 9×5 loaf pan.

Stir topping ingredients together in a small bowl until large smooth crumbs form. Set aside.

Cream butter and sugar, then mix in milk, butter, egg until smooth.
In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt.  Stir into wet ingredients until combined, then fold in berries.

Transfer batter into loaf pan and sprinkle with the topping.  Bake until topping is deep golden with a thick crust, about 50 minutes.  Cool for 5 minutes, then remove from pan to cool on a wire rack.

Makes 1 loaf.

2 Comments to “4th of July Bread!”

  1. How many does this serve? It has a Weight Watchers points ™ value of 71 per loaf. Which is kind of a lot. But the very lowest calorie ingredient is the strawberries, followed by the blueberries.

    I’m just sayin …. = )

    • I would say you get about 15 large slices or 30 half slices out of a loaf. Hey, I’m not claiming to write a health food blog here – I am the daughter of an ice cream maker, it’s in my blood 🙂 But I suppose Aunt Jean’s light fluffy cake with cool whip and fruit was probably a tad healthier!!

Leave a Reply

