Chewy, wait no, Crispy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I found this picture of some majorly thick, chewy-looking chocolate chip cookies from My Baking Adventures and they were immediately requested.  After reading through the post, I saw the note that these cookies became very crispy after cooling, but I decided to give them a try anyways, and made sure to have the dough ready to bake right up so we could eat them warm after lunch!

I made the cookies very thick and big to try to increase the chewy factor.  The dough seemed very crumbly after mixing and chilling… but they were delicious straight out of the oven.  They did in fact become quite hard after cooling but they were still yummy.

I didn’t really have any regular chocolate chips (which is weird because I usually buy way too many and have like 5 bags in the pantry…) so I improvised a bit.  For half the batch I used the few semi-sweet chips I had, some mini chips, and a chopped up Hershey’s bar.  For the other half I used M&Ms.  I preferred the chip-filled cookies. Also since I made my cookies so big, I only got about 18 cookies from the recipe.

(As you can see some of these look a little overly browned… my second batch stayed in the oven just a little too long – they became extra crispy!  Be sure to watch these babies and pull them out when still gooey)

Campanile Restaurant Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Nancy Silverton and Mark Peel via My Baking Adventures

8 ounces chocolate, coarsely chopped (I used  random chocolate bits in half and M&Ms in the other half)
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup (2 sticks) plus 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup chopped walnuts (I omitted these)

Chill chocolate in refrigerator 2 to 3 hours.

Sift flour, baking soda and baking powder into a bowl and mix well.

Using paddle attachment of an electric mixer, beat unsalted butter in a mixing bowl at medium speed 3 to 5 minutes or until light and fluffy. Add granulated and brown sugar. Beat until blended.

Whisk egg and vanilla in a bowl until blended. Add egg mixture to creamed mixture and beat until blended, scraping side of bowl occasionally. Add 1/2 of flour mixture and beat until blended. Add remaining flour mixture and beat just until combined. Beat in walnuts and chocolate. Chill dough, wrapped in plastic wrap, 2 hours or until firm.

Line cookie sheet with parchment paper. Shape dough into 1 1/2-inch balls and arrange ball 2 inches apart on prepared cookie sheet. Press each ball lightly with palm of your hand.

Bake in preheated 325 degree F oven 8 to 10 minutes or until cookies have risen and cracked (mine cookes about 20 minutes at least since they were so big); do not overbake. Cool on cookie sheet 2 minutes. Remove to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Makes 2 to 3 dozen cookies. (Or 1.5 dozen for really big cookies!)

One Comment to “Chewy, wait no, Crispy Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Yay! They look great – and I’m glad someone else tried them!

    If you want a more chewy cookie, try Nick Malgieri’s chocolate chip cookie recipe – it’s on my blog as well – those are even better than Campanile’s.

Leave a Reply

