Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

I’m going to admit a few things up front. One: I was not wowed by these cookies.  They were good, particularly warm from the oven, but toughened up a bit too much for my liking once they started to cool.  Maybe I just don’t dig the whole wheat in cookies, but the texture was a little rough and they were not very pretty. Definitely not at all like the photos on Prudence Pennywise where I got the recipe. The dough was hard to work with – very dry and crumbly and hard to shape balls.  The cookies themselves weren’t exactly dry, just very whole-wheaty.  My family gave them great reviews by the way, but I’m starting the think they aren’t the most critical audience – they seem to gobble up just about anything.

Second confession.  I dropped about half of these cookies on the floor, and then picked them up and packaged them off to send on a family vacation with my parents. (Well, I ate the ones that were just TOO broken).  Actually, I dropped them twice. See, I was baking a TON of things at once to send on this vacation, since I couldn’t go with them: chocolate cookies, pretzel sugar cookies, and caramel chocolate shortbread bars.  I was in the midst of mixing the chocolate cookies when these peanut butter cookies came out of the oven, and I after putting them on some aluminum foil to cool, I tried to transfer them quickly to another surfaces and dropped them all.  Then when they were cool, I placed them on a glass plate to photograph and managed to have them all slide off and drop on the floor again.  Oops… Don’t tell, okay?

I used chocolate/peanut butter swirl chips instead of Reese’s pieces, which I think would have been yummy as well.  I recently went on a chocolate chip splurge, in case you’ve noticed that 3 out of the past 4 recipes have used some sort of swirled chip… I just think they are so fun!

Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from The Joy of Cookie via Prudence Pennywise
1 and 1/2 cups flour (I used half whole wheat)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
1 cup peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup miniature Reese’s Pieces Baking Bits (I used chocolate/peanut butter swirl chips)

Preheat oven to 375. In a small bowl, combine flour and soda. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until creamy. Add the egg, peanut butter, and vanilla, stirring until well combined. Mix in the flour mixture. Add the Reese’s pieces/chips. Form into 1 inch balls and place on cookie sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

