Snickerdoodles!

Yikes… where has the summer gone!  It has been far too long since I hve had some quality time with my apron and spatula.  So the other day, I finally found some time to get down to business.  Yes, it so happened that I chose pretty much the hottest day of the summer to bake but I was so happy to be back in the kitchen that I didn’t even care!

Snickerdoodles are nothing fancy, but are a bit of a specialty for me.  They are my go-to recipe when I have a large group to bake for.  Often I use them to supplement other, smaller batches of baked goods since it is easy to scale up the recipe.  I was baking for the cast of Footloose, a show I have been working on as assistant choreographer.  It was put on by an amazing group of high school and middle school kids through Running to Places, a local youth theater company. I wanted to do something special for them on opening night, so I baked them lots of goodies. For a cast of over 60 hungry teenagers. Time to pull out the trusty Snickerdoodles!

This is my all-time go-to snickerdoodle recipe and I have yet to find another that I like as much.  My double batch made about 50-60 cookies. It is the perfect mix between chewy and crispy, flat and thick… yum!

Snickerdoodles
Adapted from Popularcookierecipes.com

• 1/2 cup butter, softened
• 1 cup sugar
• 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
• 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
• 1 large egg
• 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
• 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
• 4 Tablespoons granulated sugar
• 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In a mixing bowl, beat the butter on medium speed for 30 seconds.  Add the 1 cup sugar, baking soda, and cream of tartar.  Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally.  Beat in the egg and vanilla until well blended.  Beat in as much flour as you can with the mixer, and stir in remaining flour. Cover with plastic wrap and chill for 1 hour. Combine the 4 tablespoons sugar and 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon.  Shape the dough into 1 inch balls and roll in cinnamon sugar mixture to coat. Place balls of dough 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 10 to 11 minutes or until edges are golden.

Leave a Reply

