One recipe, two awesome muffins

I’ve gone from having no time or particular reason to bake to have a million excuses to whip up some sweet treats.  These muffins were inspired by my brother and his girlfriend visiting from NYC.  He was getting in at 4am and I wanted them to wake up to something tasty, so I asked my little brother if he wanted to get up and bake with me.  When I suggested whole wheat, he demanded chocolate chunk.  Thus, version one of these muffins were born.

Next, I had a brunch to go to with the cast of Rent at the Hangar Theatre to celebrate our closing weekend.  I decided to make these muffins again with a few alterations – I used only 3/4 whole wheat flour and added peaches and pecans.  They were kind of really amazing – especially warm from the oven.

The only real changes I made to the original base recipe was to use buttermilk instead of milk to help with moisture with the whole wheat. (thanks Grandma Snow for the tip!) I also used 100% whole wheat flour instead of white whole wheat flour.

Whole Wheat Muffins
Adapted from King Arthur Flour

Ingredients:
•    1/2 cup butter
•    1 cup granulated sugar
•    2 teaspoons baking powder
•    1/2 teaspoon salt
•    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
•    1/8 to 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (optional – I used for the peach muffins only)
•    2 large eggs
•    1/2 cup buttermilk
•    2 cups Whole Wheat Flour (can use part all-purpose flour if preferred)
•    2 cups chocolate chunks (I chopped up 3 Hershey’s bars)
OR
•    2 cups sliced and diced peaches and 1 cup chopped pecans

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly grease (or line with muffin cups, and grease the muffin cups) a standard-size muffin pan.
1) Beat together the butter, sugar, baking powder, salt, vanilla, and cinnamon (if you’re using it) until fluffy.
2) Beat in the eggs, then stir in the buttermilk.
3) Mix in the flour, then the chocolate chips/peaches and pecans.
4) Spoon the batter into the muffin cups; they’ll be quite full.
5) Optional: Top peach/pecan muffins each with one whole pecan for decoration or sprinkle sugar flakes on chocolate chip muffins
6) Bake the muffins for 30 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted into the center of one comes out without crumbs clinging to it

Thanks to the big brother for the chocolate chunk muffin pictures!

One Comment to “One recipe, two awesome muffins”

  1. I always find whole wheat muffins a little too heavy, but these look really good.

Leave a Reply

