I’m baaack!

Finally I am home from school, in my kitchen, and I couldn’t be happier. I have been home for about 24 hours and I already have 3 new posts in the works. I am so excited for a Thanksgiving break/Christmas break (in a few weeks) full of nothing but flour, butter, sugar, eggs, and CHOCOLATE!

I haven’t gotten to enjoy much of the pumpkin season, so I wanted to make sure to jump right on that over thanksgiving break.  So I decided to make this Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal from goodLife {eats} that seemed the perfect excuse to eat pumpkin pie for breakfast!

I absolutely will be making this recipe again. It was very filling and tasted just like pumpkin pie, just heartier from the oats. I didn’t have any ramekins, so I just made it in a smallish casserole dish, but it would be very nice served in individual portions at a brunch! Also, we all thought it would have been very yummy with some raisins or dates in there.

Here is the recipe, and many more to come – boy am I happy to be back!

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal
Adapted from goodLife {eats}

  • 1 cup old fashioned oats, not quick cook
  • 1 Tbs whole flax seeds, optional
  • 2 1/2 Tbs brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 cup milk

Topping:

  • 1/4 cup pecans, chopped (I used walnuts, which were delicious!)
  • 2 tsp butter, softened
  • 1 Tbs brown sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease 4 individual sized ramekins. Note: I used a small casserole dish, which worked fine – it just wasn’t as pretty to serve

Combine the oats, spices, and salt in a medium sized bowl. Stir well. In a separate bowl, combine the vanilla, butter, pumpkin, and milk. Whisk thoroughly. Pour the pumpkin mixture into the oats. Stir until combined.

Divide mixture evenly between 4 individual sized ramekins. Place ramekins on a baking sheet (this makes it easier to move in and out of the oven.) Bake at 375 degrees F for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine the ingredients for the topping: chopped pecans, butter, and brown sugar. After the oatmeal has baked for 10 minutes, remove and divide topping mixture evenly between the ramekins. Bake and additional 7 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

