Christmas Cookies!

I’ve got a lot of yummy cookies from our holiday party, so here is the run down:

First up – Pecan Paulines!

These guys were totally yummy, and probably the favorite cookie at our little holiday fiesta. I didn’t have any maple extract, so I just used some maple syrup, and reduced the brown sugar a bit. I also think I might have used honey in the glaze on top instead of corn syrup. Basically they were delicious! Most important thing? Don’t overbake because they get pretty crispy. Check out the recipe at Cookie Madness!

Some Russian Tea Cakes, made by my wonderful Grandma Snow!

Next – Florentines!

These were a very pretty addition to the cookie platter. I left one batch in the oven too long and they got a little too brown and tasted a little burned.  Also, I just wanted the chocolate to be thinner when I dipped the cookies in – this is a constant problem for me and I would love to find a solution! But over all these were pretty easy to make and were very tasty. Thanks to Chocolate Fool for the recipe!

The crowd pleaser: Chocolate Cookies with White Chocolate Chips

Since the pinwheel cookies I attempted went horribly wrong (i.e. no one in my family would even eat them, which is saying a LOT), I whipped up these instead using this yummy recipe I had used over the summer. Foolproof chocolate cookies, and I made them bite sized!!

And of course, the ever classic Thumprint Cookie:

This recipe from 101 Cookbooks was recommended by my big bro and co-chef Dan. They brought us away from refined sugars and bleached flour to a heartier, healthier (?) whole wheat cookie sweetened with honey. These got mixed reviews – some people didn’t seem to care for them, while others really enjoyed them. They got a little soggy and never crisped up the way I would have liked, but were pretty on the plate and a nice variety!

And last but not least – simple Fudge.

I’ll say right now that this was not the best or fanciest fudge I have ever eaten, but it sure was good and it sure was easy. Just chocolate chips, condensed milk I made one plain chocolate batch with Christmas-y sprinkles on top, and one with both regular chocolate and white chocolate topped with crushed Oreos. I preferred the Oreos 🙂

That’s all for the cookie scene this Christmas!

Leave a Reply

