Try, try again.

Raise your hand if you remember how I ended my last blog entry. Wait, don’t cheat and look. I’ll just tell you.

“If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.”

This was one of my dad’s wise saying to me as a girl. Along with:

“When climbing the ladder of success, don’t let the boys look up your dress.”

That’s a story for another day though. Right now I want to talk about that first piece of advice. These cheesecake brownies were the “try” part that comes after you don’t succeed. After my less-than-stellar cookie episode that I had intended to bring to a Drastic Measures a capella rehearsal, I woke up early the next morning and whipped up a batch of scrumptious cheesecake brownies.

WRONG. These guys have no place being called brownies. There was chocolate, and there was cheesecake. There was no brownie in sight.

Want to know why? Yes, I had another failure. Failure to read directions. Apparently changing 2 oz of melted chocolate into 2 cups can have some pretty serious ramifications for the consistency of your baked goods. Guys, I didn’t even have it in me to take nice pictures.

The good news in all of this? I took the cheesecake creation, sliding around on its chocolate goo, to rehearsal, where they were devoured. With spoons.

Leave a Reply

