Apple Muffins/Writer’s Block

I kind of have writer’s block about these muffins. Want to know why?

I hated them and will never make them again. There, I said it. The strange thing is, almost everyone else who tried them loved them. So should I gush and rave? Or say what I really thought?

The alarm bells went off in my head when these muffins took a cup of oil instead of butter. Something about that didn’t feel right. I love butter. The crumble on top also didn’t have any butter, so it didn’t have that lovely melty crunch on top. And the bottoms of the muffins were down right soggy.

I said I’d never make these again. I guess that’s a lie. I would make these again, only I would cut the amount of sugar in half, use less juicy apples, substitute butter (or applesauce for a healthier muffin) for the oil, and change the crumble on top. But then that wouldn’t really be THESE muffins would it?

Well, the important thing is that they were greatly enjoyed by everyone else, so I guess I should stop complaining and go bake something else!

Apple Muffins
Adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything

Ingredients:
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 cup oil
1 Tablespoon vanilla
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3 cups peeled, cored, diced apples (around 3 apples)
Brown sugar for topping (around 1/2 cup)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line or grease muffin tins.
In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon. Cream together sugar, eggs, oil, and vanilla and mix into dry ingredients. The batter will be very thick. Fold in the diced apples.

Fill muffin tins almost to the top about 3/4 of the way full. Sprinkle with brown sugar.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. Makes 18-24 muffins.

Leave a Reply

