Christmas is over.

How do I know when Christmas is over?

All of these are gone.

My mom makes them every year. They are the best. Even though I really like to bake, I stay out of the way at Christmas. Because she makes all the best Christmas cookies. Sorry I didn’t take pictures of any of the others…. I was too busy eating them.

But here’s the important thing: my mom is awesome! It was her birthday a while ago. I made her these cupcakes!

We usually swear by Duncan Hines Yellow Cake box mix with Betty Crocker canned chocolate frosting, but I bit the bullet and made these guys from scratch. They were pretty good, and the frosting was awesome. Just like my mom.

 

Love you ma!

Yellow Cupcakes
adapted from AllRecipes.com

1 cup butter
2 cups white sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 3/4 cups milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line cupcake tin.
Cream together butter and sugar. Beat in eggs and vanilla.
In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Add to creamed mixture alternately with milk. Mix well. Pour batter into prepared pan.
Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until done. Cool before frosting.
Fudgey Chocolate Frosting
Adapted from Betty Crocker
2 oz unsweetened baking chocolate
2 tablespoons butter
2 cups powdered sugar
3 to 4 tablespoons hot water
In 2-quart saucepan, melt chocolate and butter over low heat, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat. Stir in powdered sugar and 3 tablespoons of the hot water until smooth. (If frosting is too thick, add additional water, 1 teaspoon at a time.) Spread frosting over cooled cupcakes!
One Comment to “Christmas is over.”

  1. Devin sent me like FOUR calendar reminders, but I missed your Mom’s birthday regardless. DOH!

    And yes, she is THE awesome!

Leave a Reply

