Peanut Butter Cookies for Charles

In the Katie Lane Food Pyramid, chocolate would have its own level, 5-6 servings daily.  In case you are curious, the other categories would be labeled Mashed Potatoes, Watermelon, and Birthday Cake. But that is beyond my point, which is that chocolate simply rocks my world. I have been this way my whole life. A choco-holic, you might say.

There could be worse things, I suppose. I could be addicted to TV shopping, or World of Warcraft, or meth. But instead, my parent passed along a seemingly genetic insatiable desire to fill my belly with sweet, smooth, delicious chocolate. Give it to me in a bar, chip, or candy coating, fill it with peanut butter or cover it in sprinkles, I’ll take it and I’ll love it. Never, ever offer me a choice between a dessert that involves chocolate and one that doesn’t. It’s kind of offensive.

So….awkward thing here. These cookies do not have any chocolate. Here’s why. I have this dear friend named Charles. One of the first things I learned about him is that he was allergic to chocolate. I was heartbroken for him. How tragic! I always felt so guilty when I accidentally offered Charles a handful of sticky, half-melted M&Ms (isn’t that the best way to eat them?) or a scoop of creamy chocolate ice cream. It just felt cruel, like dangling a Milk Bone in front of a dog wearing a muzzle.

Charles never really seemed to care. He ever found out a few months later that his chocolate allergy had subsided and he still barely ever ate chocolate. That just confused me. I think that if I suddenly found out I could eat chocolate after being denied for years and years of my life, I would eat every single Hershey kiss in a 10 mile radius. But that’s just me.

Charles came to visit this weekend. He had a long drive, and I love to make cookies for people who have to go on car trips. (Correction – I like to eat cookies on long car trips, so I assume the same is true of everyone.) I knew Charles would probably enjoy a non-chocolate cookie the most, so I resisted my urge to force-feed him Dutch-process cocoa powder and whipped up some of these peanut butter cookies.

Maybe next week I’ll write about how much I love peanut butter…

Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies
adapted from http://www.annies-eats.net

 

Ingredients:
1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
½  cup sugar

¾ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. salt
6 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
½ cup creamy peanut butter
½ cup honey
1 large eggs

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350˚ F.  In a medium mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt; whisk together and set aside.  In another bowl, cream together the butter, peanut butter, honey and sugar.  Mix in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Add the dry ingredients to the peanut butter mixture and beat just until incorporated.

Roll the dough into 1½-inch balls, and roll each dough ball in sugar.   Place the dough balls on an ungreased baking sheet, a couple inches apart.  Press the back of a fork gently into each cookie. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until slightly puffed and golden.  Remove from the oven and let cool on the baking sheet for 5-10 minutes before transferring to a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

Check out this article in this week’s Skid News!

Also, this recipe is linked up to Sweet as Sugar Cookies!

2 Comments to “Peanut Butter Cookies for Charles”

  1. You’re such a good friend. I’m sure he appreciated your cookies and enjoyed every bite. Still, I can’t imagine being allergic to chocolate. That would definitely be bad for me. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d be delighted if you’d stop by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-8.html

  2. Saw your cookies over at the link party…they look yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

