Awkward face :-0

Insert awkward face here.

You know that thing that you put off for a few days when you were really really busy with finishing college? And then a few days became a few weeks? And then a few months? And the longer you put this thing off the harder it became to sit down and get this thing done?

Oops. I’m back. I sure did miss you. I wish I could say I have tons of delicious treats to lavish upon your hungry eyes saved up from these past few months of silence, but the truth is, I had to put the lid on the cookie jar altogether for quite a while.  There was one bake sale incident that involved a lot of box mixes (Thank you, Betty), but my oven has been pretty cold lately.

Here’s the good news. I graduated. Got the whole school thing over with. So now I can fully devote myself to the pursuit of creating and capturing delicious food.

And what better way to celebrate my return to the blogosphere…. Than with the birthday of one of my favorite people around!

Happy Birthday Betsy!

Okay, so I made you only four cookies.

But they were really really big cookies. In fact, I took a batch of snickerdoodles and divided the dough in half. And then I divided it in half again. Then I rolled them in cinnamon sugar and baked them on one tray.

Big love deserves big cookies.

If there is one person that would really want me back in action here, its Betsy. So this is for you, girlfriend! And my other devoted fans. Hi Mom. Hi Grandma.

I do have a few more things up my sleeve for you – so, if you haven’t given up on me yet… stay tuned!

Snickerdoodles
Adapted from PopularCookieRecipes.com

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In a mixing bowl, beat the butter on medium speed for 30 seconds or by hand with a fork.  Add the 1 cup sugar, baking soda, and cream of tartar.  Beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally.  Beat in the egg and vanilla until well blended.  Mix in flour until ingredients come together in a ball. Cover and chill for 1 hour. (Eco-friendly tip: instead of using plastic wrap, try putting your dough in tupperware or covering it with another bowl!)

Combine the 3 tablespoons sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon.  Divide dough into 4 balls and roll in cinnamon sugar mixture to coat. Place balls of dough 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet and press into flat discs, about and inch or so thick. Bake until edges are just barely golden. Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool. If desired, lightly press a metal cookie cutter into the top just to break through the top crust for a pretty decoration!

One Comment to “Awkward face :-0”

  1. This was totally worth waiting for….and thanks for the shout out! 🙂
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

