Browned Butter Peanut Butter Rice Crispy Treats

I share something in common with Joy The Baker. I’m pretty sure we are both in love with browned butter. And peanut butter I guess.

The first time I ever browned butter I was afraid I would burn all that yummy buttery goodness right up. But the trick is to just keep swirling and watching and smelling that nutty goodness. After the butter melts and starts crackling and bubbling, stay with it. Don’t give in to the urge to whip it off the stove just yet. Because after the crackling starts to subside, you will notice rich amber flecks of brown butter gathering at the bottom of your pan. Once the butter starts to take on this delicious amber hue, get that pan off the stove and scrape all that yummy butter into a bowl to keep it from burning.

These Browned Butter Peanut Butter Rice Crispy Treats, (any treat with Butter in the title twice has got to be good) are from Joy The Baker’s new cookbook – you’ll have to check it out for the recipe.  I’ll just say that there is browned butter, marshmallows, peanut butter, and rice krispie cereal. How could that possible go wrong! Yes, I know my last post raved about this cookbook as well – it’s that good.

Stay tuned for some seriously good things coming out of my kitchen with my bread baking brother Dan comes to town. Ciabatta? Hungarian Mushroom Soup? Lemon Poppyseed muffins? Hmmm….

Leave a Reply

