Rice Krispy Easter Eggs

I used to get really upset about the Easter Bunny. I didn’t understand how he could get in the house if my dad locked the door at night, because I knew he wouldn’t get his fur dirty by coming down the chimney. But somehow he always managed to sneak in (which probably should have been an even scarier thought) and launch a competitive easter egg hunt/battle amongst my brothers and me.

But really, my favorite thing about Easter never had to do with treats or bunnies or chocolate (okay maybe chocolate). It was all about the Easter Dress. My wonderful Auntie Kay (who had two boys that she couldn’t really dress up too much) used to send me a beautiful dress every year for Easter. Imagine pastel flowers, pleated flouncy skirts, ruffled sleeves (oh the ruffled sleeves!!), and I’m pretty sure I usually rocked a matching headband. Cue sweet pictures with my oldest brother sitting on our front hall steps, me grinning sweetly waiting for the perfect photo op and him smirking, waiting for a chance to give me a nougie and mess up my perfectly combed hair….

I don’t have a special Easter dress this year. I’ll have to make do with something in my closet I guess. But I did make a pretty sweet dessert spread for my first Easter with my soon-to-be in-laws, who traveled up to Beantown for the holiday. Maybe out of my kid nostalgia (see above), maybe out of my love of marshmallows (but my hatred for Peeps), or maybe out of my love for The Pioneer Woman from whom I shamelessly copied this idea, I bring you Rice Krispy Easter Eggs. I promise I made some more sophisticated desserts that I will share very soon, but guys, I just couldn’t help it.

Hope the Easter Bunny visits you tonight! But still lock your door… okay?

Rice Krispy Easter Eggs
adapted from The Pioneer Woman

3 Tbs butter
10 oz marshmallows
6 cups rice krispy cereal
Plastic Easter Egg
Sprinkles

Melt the butter in a large saucepan over med-low heat. Add in marshmallows and stir until completely melted and smooth. Stir in cereal until fully incorporate. Turn off heat.

This next part is basically whatever system works for you to smush all that sticky goodness into the egg mold and get it back out in one piece. Here’s how I did it. Lightly grease the inside of each half of the plastic easter egg. Scoop up some rice krispy mixture in each half. Squish them together and wipe off any pieces that came out from the seal. It helps if your hands are a little wet (not dripping). Open up the top half of the egg and add any desired sprinkles. Put the top back on and push the halves together firmly. Open them up and pop the egg onto a cookie sheet to dry, then move to an empty egg carton. Store in an airtight container so they don’t dry out!

 

One Comment to “Rice Krispy Easter Eggs”

  1. Simply adorable! I thought of you today while I watched all of the fancy Easter dresses on the little girls at church. Love, Mom On Mar 30, 2013, at 8:18 PM, A Sprinkle In Time wrote:

    > >

Leave a Reply

