Sprinkle Sugar Cookies

 

These cookies are so many things for me right now.

The rainbow sprinkles are a blast of childhood nostalgia, the cookie choice of any kid. Oh wait. I still order rainbow sprinkles on every soft serve cone ever. And my blog is sprinkle themed. But still… childhood.

 

The soft-slightly-underbaked texture have that naughty ready-to-bake-Pillsbury-gold-crap thing going on. But they are also undeniably homemade.

The sweet vanilla sugar taste is seriously launching me into spring. There are sugar cookies for winter and there are sugar cookies for spring. Did you know that? I’m telling you that these are sugar cookies for spring.

I can’t claim much credit for the creation of these beauties. I pinned them on Pinterest from Averie Cooks, a blog I have admired for a long time but surprisingly haven’t mentioned here yet.  I followed the recipe pretty darn closely with just a few minor changes. I can however claim credit for those three that disappeared yesterday morning. Oops.

This is my new go-to drop sugar cookie. I like my roll out sugar cookies thin, crisp and buttery. I like my drop sugar cookies thick, chewy, and buttery. This recipe is so right it’s almost wrong.

Sprinkle Sugar Cookies
adapted slightly from Averie Cooks

makes about 25-30 cookies using a 1 1/2 T scoop

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 T vanilla extract
3 cups AP flour
4 t corn starch
1 1/2 t baking soda
pinch of salt (if you used salted butter – leave out)
about 1 c sprinkles – or more to taste

Directions:

Cream together the butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla until very light and fluffy. Don’t short-change this step – it takes a good 5-7 minutes with a mixer! Sift in the dry ingredients and mix to combine. Fold in the sprinkles with a spatula.

Scoop the cookies onto a baking sheet and chill in the fridge for at least 1 hour. Just as noted in the original recipe, this step is super important to getting the right shape/consistency in the cookies. At this point you can either transfer dough balls to freezer or bake right away. I like to freeze them and just bake off a few at a time straight from the freezer since its just me and the Mr.

Bake cookies at 350 degree oven for about 8-9 minutes (plus a few if coming out of the freezer). Cookies should still be pale but the edges should be starting to set. These are best if they are still nice and soft in the middle, and they will continue to set as you let them cool on the pan for 2-5 minutes and then remove to a wire cooling rack.

 

One Comment to “Sprinkle Sugar Cookies”

  1. Mouth-watering pictures! So glad you are back!

Leave a Reply

