Longest cookie name in history

Crisp Salted Butterscotch Macadamia Nut Oatmeal Cookies.

Hmm.  Well, I guess I don’t need to say much more about what is in them. . Only that these were some of the best cookies I think I’ve made.  Salty and sweet and flat and crispy yet not too crunchy.  I made them a few weeks ago and I’m drooling just thinking back about them… The original cookies were called Crisp Salted White Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies, so I kind of just substituted what I put in and the name is kind of unwieldy I suppose. But impressive to say to people.

As seems to be the theme in my baking lately, I think these were born out of a desire to use up some various baking things I had in the cupboard – butterscotch chips and macadamia nuts.  I would highly suggest making these and eating them while still slightly warm.  Yummmm. In fact, I have to quote the writer over at Smitten Kitchen, where I found the original recipe – these were “scandalously good.”

Crisp Salted Butterscotch Macadamia Nut Oatmeal Cookies.
Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated via Smitten Kitchen

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon table salt
14 tablespoons (1 3/4 sticks) unsalted butter, slightly softened
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup white chocolate chips
3/4 cup chopped macadamia nuts

1/2 teapoon flaky sea salt (for sprinkling on top)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and table salt in a medium bowl.

2. Beat butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Scrape down bowl with rubber spatula, then add egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated. Scrape down bowl again. Add flour mixture gradually and mix until just incorporated and smooth. Gradually add oats and white chocolate and mix until well incorporated.

3. Roll dough into balls about 2 tbs each, then place on lined baking sheets about 2 1/2 inches apart. Using fingertips, gently press down each ball to about 3/4-inch thickness.

4. Sprinkle a flake or two of sea salt on each cookie

5. Bake until cookies are deep golden brown, about 13 to 16 minutes, rotating baking sheet halfway through. Transfer baking sheet to wire rack to cool.

Leave a comment