1am Pancakes?

Guess what? This post is NOT about the pancakes I made for Betsy and Rebs at approximately 1am on Saturday night. Why? Because, at 1am, I was not thinking “Hey, I wonder what lighting would make a really sweet picture for my blog.” I was thinking “Hey, I should make some chocolate chip pancakes and devour them immediately.”

Don’t get too disappointed. I do have some pancakes to blog about. I was afraid of letting you down, dear readers, so I dug up these pictures of chocolate chip pancakes I made with Andy Lane over the summer.

These are 8am pancakes. They are actually more delicious than 1am pancakes.

They are fluffy and perfect and I think I ate about 6 that morning.

Denny Lane, who doesn’t even like pancakes, managed to eat a few bites with a smile on his face.

And Bruce Lane? He gave them two thumbs up. Thanks Pops!

Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Pancakes

adapted from Joy The Baker

2 eggs
2 cups flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups buttermilk
4 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
½ teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2- 3/4 cup chocolate chips

In a large bowl beat eggs. Add buttermilk, butter and vanilla and mix well. Add flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix well until mostly smooth. Fold in chocolate chips and let batter sit for a few minutes.

Heat griddle or pan over medium heat. Add a teaspoon of oil to the pan or spray with cooking spray.

Pour 2 Tablespoons of batter onto the griddle. Cook on the first side until bubbles that form start to pop. You can also gently lift up the pancake to make sure the bottom is not overcooking, if it is the pan may be too hot and you will need to adjust the heat. Flip the pancake over with a spatula and cook until golden brown. Repeat until all the batter is gone. Devour over orange juice with your favorite people in the world.

One Trackback to “1am Pancakes?”

Leave a comment