Archive for December 1st, 2010

December 1, 2010

Forgiveness Granola

I’m sorry I didn’t post a single scrap of tasty goodness over Thanksgiving, the holiday best known for feasting and indulging. Why, do you ask? Why would I so neglect you?

Because I was so darn busy feasting and indulging that I didn’t even bother to open my computer all weekend long!

So I ask for your forgiveness with this tasty granola I made for my pop’s birthday! I even used fancy things like agave nectar, local maple syrup, and wheat germ.

This maple granola is perfect for autumn – it is sweet (like my dad – Happy Birthday!), crunchy (like the leaves on the ground), and dying for some ice cold skim milk and a spoon (like any self-respecting breakfast food). YUM!

Maple Almond Granola
Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

2 cups rolled oats
1 cup chopped almonds
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
2 T dark brown sugar
3 T pure maple syrup
2 T canola oil
2 T agave nectar
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup raisins

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees and grease a baking sheet with cooking spray. In a medium bowl, mix the oats, almonds, wheat germ, salt, cinnamon, and brown sugar together. In a small bowl, whisk together the maple syrup, canola oil, agave nectar, and vanilla. Pour over the dry ingredients and mix well with a wooden spoon or your hands. Spread the mixture out onto the baking sheet and bake for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  When granola begins to be golden-brown, remove from oven, stir in the raisins and cool completely. Store in an air tight container.