Peanut Butter Oatmeal!

Usually for birthdays and christmas I try to make as many gifts as possible – I am always knitting, crafting etc.  But I had never thought to just give FOOD as a gift before, until now!  My wonderful father’s birthday was on Thanksgiving, and I wanted to combine his love for peanut butter and chocolate in a crunchy treat – thus: Peanut Butter Oatmeal!

I overcooked the oatmeal slightly, and I have no idea how long it actually took to toast, so my advice would be to just keep stirring the oats every 5 minutes and take them out as soon as they start to brown! Add some cute packaging… and voila!

Peanut Butter Granola
Adapted from James and Miriam Brenneman (via “A Taste of Shiloh”) via Ezra Pound Cake

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup flake coconut (sweetened or unsweetened, your choice)
  • 1/8 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/3 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F.

2. In a large bowl, stir together the oats, wheat germ and coconut.

3. Over low heat in a small saucepan, combine the oil and honey, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat; add vanilla. Stir in peanut butter while mixture is still warm, blending well.

4. Pour mixture over dry ingredients. Mix thoroughly with a wooden spoon. Spread the mixture on a large baking sheet. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring after 10 minutes. Remove from oven.

5. Once the mixture cools, add raisins and chips.

Leave a comment